Chapter TWO

We don’t do much during the week as the classes start in a couple of weeks’ time, so we try and kill the time going to the swimming pool during the day and laze about in the evening, wasting our time talking nonsense. Although, of course, and secretly, I’m thinking of Nola, the girl with the mysterious halo about her that I met the other day.

So Friday finally comes and as usual we are talking more nonsense on the old PVC chairs by the pool. Maria didn’t want to come and I still wonder why, for some reason I haven’t seen her face the whole week, but that doesn’t seem to bother me as I am building my expectations up with this goddess that’s about to turn up.

There she is! There she is! I shout in my head when I see her turning around from the corner, and then my heart starts racing, my face turns so red that’s unreal and a thousand words seem to come together at the same time in my head. *Sigh* I don’t know if I will ever be brave enough to ask her out. I really should change the approach: I will ask Carolina about Nola. Decided, that’s what I’ll do. Yep, there she is, as loud as ever. Will she ever shut up? Ok, here I come.
-“Caro, I need to talk to you”- I ask her with a whisper. – “YOU WHAT?”-She half-shouts. And with that I nearly faint. So I repeat the question, legs shaking and bright red face: “I need to talk to you but please don’t shout” – “Ok matey, what’s up? And why on Earth is your face so red?” – “Never mind my face. You know Nola right? I….well…I *gulp*…kind of like her” –“Really? Oh you poor little devil! You don’t stand a chance! She’s hard to catch!”

Great. That’s all I needed to know. There’s this gorgeous girl that I really like and apparently I don’t stand a chance! We’ll see about that! Ha! And with that I go to Nola and start talking to her. I don’t even remember what we were talking about the whole evening due to me staring at her all the time, her face, her hair, her legs, her hands… she probably thinks that I’m some sort of psycho or a freak…
So by the end of the evening I ask her if she would mind being accompanied by me as it’s too dark to walk alone on the streets and especially where she lives, and it wouldn’t be wise to leave the love of my life by herself in case any big bad man assaults her. Although I’m only little, so I don’t really know what would I do if that situation propped up.

Anyway, there we are, walking together that mile and a half through dark and forgotten streets. Thankfully, it’s too late and there’s nobody out. Just us. The two of us. My chance. My original plan is to ask her out when we get to her front door. And that will be an offer she won’t be able to refuse. So, for the last half a mile I’m psyching myself up, getting ready to that big moment, thinking quite carefully what to say.

However, apparently my tongue it’s an organ independent from my body because it doesn’t seem to work when I need it to! So I just manage to say goodbye to her and that’s it. And now I have about four miles to walk home. Gutted. Maybe tomorrow I will be luckier.

Leave a Reply

